Jump to content


Photo

I got FBI warning.


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#1 Jo Ann

Jo Ann

    PHOTO CLUB MEMBER

  • Members
  • 10,087 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Oklahoma City, Ok USA
  • Interests:Family, Pets, Gardening, Computer

Posted 29 September 2012 - 10:04 AM

Yesterday when I was using my computer, a full page with the title "FBI" popped up and it was on for such a short time I could only read the first few lines. Something about my computer has been locked up because I was going to porn sites and other sites, but didn't have time to read more as it was gone so quickly.

So what has happened is that I no longer have the task bar (bar across the bottom that shows the clock and and start button). Also can't right click on my desktop to make it show my icons. Now this morning I keep getting a pop up that says "tiny spell" at the top with this message: Tray message NIM_ADDfailed. When it is showing, I can't type here.

Hoping that some of you computer experts can help. Please keep in mind that I can't use the phone well, but I can text on my phone or use email. Also can use the forum to communicate.

Jo Ann

#2 Sandy E

Sandy E

    PHOTO CLUB MEMBER

  • Members
  • 13,388 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Grandbabies,
    church
    and the
    computer.

Posted 29 September 2012 - 10:36 AM

Oh wow, I bet its a virus. Hope one of our experts can fix it.

#3 Ross

Ross

    Problem Child

  • Admin
  • 5,743 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:On The Hot Seat
  • Interests:Fixing things and if I can't fix them, I'll make sure no one else can either!

Posted 29 September 2012 - 11:07 AM

You have a clone? Your going to need to restore from a clone or reinstall your operating system. What you have is incredibly difficult to get rid of. It's faster to replace a clone or reinstall the operating system.

ACCDFISA – RansomWare
A new variant of the Malware Protection ransomware has been released called Anti-Child Porn Spam Protection. This ransomware pretends to be from a legitimate government organization that states that the infected computer is sending out SPAM that contains links to child pornography sites. The ransom program then states that in order protect yourself, and others, it has encrypted your data using Advanced Encryption Standards, or AES, encryption. Just like the Malware Protection and the ACCDFISA Protection Program variants, these files are not actually encrypted but are password protected RAR files. The hackers then require you to send them a Moneypak, PaySafeCard, or Ukash card for values ranging from $500 - 1,000 USD in order to get the password for your files.


You can read more about it here:

http://www.bleepingc...opic449398.html

http://bottomline.nb...histicated?lite

http://krebsonsecuri...ware-operation/



#4 Jo Ann

Jo Ann

    PHOTO CLUB MEMBER

  • Members
  • 10,087 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Oklahoma City, Ok USA
  • Interests:Family, Pets, Gardening, Computer

Posted 29 September 2012 - 11:24 AM

Thanks Ross. Unfortunately I have never cloned so will have to take my computer to the tech in town.

Posted Image

#5 Ross

Ross

    Problem Child

  • Admin
  • 5,743 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:On The Hot Seat
  • Interests:Fixing things and if I can't fix them, I'll make sure no one else can either!

Posted 29 September 2012 - 11:29 AM

Sorry, it's one that none of us can help with because you have no way to connect to the internet. You can watch that removal video and see if you can follow the instructions, but if your not comfortable with that, take it to the tech.

#6 Birdie

Birdie

    Cuckoo Bird

  • Admin
  • 29,813 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Cameron, MO
  • Interests:Family, Computers, and Gardening, reading.

Posted 29 September 2012 - 12:36 PM

Sorry to hear this JoAnn. If you get it all back together and want to clone it, we will be glad to help you. It really saves a lot of work if something like this happens

#7 Jo Ann

Jo Ann

    PHOTO CLUB MEMBER

  • Members
  • 10,087 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Oklahoma City, Ok USA
  • Interests:Family, Pets, Gardening, Computer

Posted 29 September 2012 - 02:32 PM

Thank you Ross and Birdie. I know I should have been cloning, but have felt I couldn't do it. When my computer is fixed, I'll be sure and get help from you with learning to clone.

Posted Image

#8 Birdie

Birdie

    Cuckoo Bird

  • Admin
  • 29,813 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Cameron, MO
  • Interests:Family, Computers, and Gardening, reading.

Posted 29 September 2012 - 02:45 PM

JoAnn i really feel we can set you up with a clone and do this without being on the phone. I can text you at the time we are doing it. You will be watching and see everything and I know this can be done.

#9 Jo Ann

Jo Ann

    PHOTO CLUB MEMBER

  • Members
  • 10,087 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Oklahoma City, Ok USA
  • Interests:Family, Pets, Gardening, Computer

Posted 29 September 2012 - 03:17 PM

Thank you, Birdie. Of course I have learned my lesson. A costly one no doubt. And I will definitely ask you for help with cloning.

Posted Image

#10 Ross

Ross

    Problem Child

  • Admin
  • 5,743 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:On The Hot Seat
  • Interests:Fixing things and if I can't fix them, I'll make sure no one else can either!

Posted 29 September 2012 - 03:18 PM

Question-What do you use for virus protection? Not that it would have stopped this, but just wondering what protections you have.

#11 Jo Ann

Jo Ann

    PHOTO CLUB MEMBER

  • Members
  • 10,087 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Oklahoma City, Ok USA
  • Interests:Family, Pets, Gardening, Computer

Posted 29 September 2012 - 04:31 PM

I used Avast for years, but changed to Microsoft Essentials probably a year or so ago. (Not sure that's the name of it but I can't look it up to see the name.)

Posted Image

#12 Nett

Nett

    PHOTO CLUB MEMBER

  • Members
  • 6,389 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Alabaster, Alabama
  • Interests:Not to much of nothing.

Posted 29 September 2012 - 04:42 PM

JoAnn if I can clone anybody can with Casper so easy.......certainly start thinking about it saves lots of time and money......

#13 Jo Ann

Jo Ann

    PHOTO CLUB MEMBER

  • Members
  • 10,087 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Oklahoma City, Ok USA
  • Interests:Family, Pets, Gardening, Computer

Posted 29 September 2012 - 05:56 PM

Thanks Nett, I plan to clone faithfully!

Posted Image

#14 Sandy E

Sandy E

    PHOTO CLUB MEMBER

  • Members
  • 13,388 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Colorado
  • Interests:Grandbabies,
    church
    and the
    computer.

Posted 29 September 2012 - 09:50 PM

Oh man, Jo Ann, I'm sorry that happened. Cloning is the only way to go. I clone every other week without fail and if I put new pictures on here, I clone more often. Hope those tech's dont charge you too much.

#15 Ross

Ross

    Problem Child

  • Admin
  • 5,743 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:On The Hot Seat
  • Interests:Fixing things and if I can't fix them, I'll make sure no one else can either!

Posted 30 September 2012 - 05:36 AM

I used Avast for years, but changed to Microsoft Essentials probably a year or so ago. (Not sure that's the name of it but I can't look it up to see the name.)

Posted Image


Just wondered. A friend of mine has everything imaginable on his business server and this thing still got him. They went nuts trying to get it working before the work day started. He resorted to tearing out a back drive from another server. They tried all night and couldn't remove that darn thing.

#16 Patricia

Patricia

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,640 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Monahans, Texas
  • Interests:Gardening, Pets, PSP, Friends, Houseplants and of course my computer

Posted 30 September 2012 - 10:12 AM

This was on our news last night. To just not even touch it shut your computer down! If you open it you are screwed!

I am so sorry that this happened to you! What they said on the news is this is a very destructive virus and can happen to anyone of us.

#17 Birdie

Birdie

    Cuckoo Bird

  • Admin
  • 29,813 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Cameron, MO
  • Interests:Family, Computers, and Gardening, reading.

Posted 30 September 2012 - 10:43 AM

There are a lot viruses that pop up like warnings and right, do not touch anything. Reach over and hold the button for a few seconds. Then restart the computer.

#18 Angel

Angel

    Member

  • Members
  • 3,223 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:PA
  • Interests:Family, our Pets, friends, Gardening, Birding, Computer, Church, Civic Organization

Posted 30 September 2012 - 11:19 AM

In other words Birdie, do not go to the START button and click on that...just manually turn off the Computer???

#19 Jo Ann

Jo Ann

    PHOTO CLUB MEMBER

  • Members
  • 10,087 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Oklahoma City, Ok USA
  • Interests:Family, Pets, Gardening, Computer

Posted 30 September 2012 - 11:40 AM

Now you tell me Birdie! It was strange that it popped up and was gone in about 3 seconds, so I don't know if turning the computer off would have stopped it. Hope no one else gets it.


Posted Image



#20 Patricia

Patricia

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,640 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Monahans, Texas
  • Interests:Gardening, Pets, PSP, Friends, Houseplants and of course my computer

Posted 30 September 2012 - 12:15 PM

Hon, that is what they said on the news manually turn it off. Hope that helps. Our news was saying it had already destroyed many computers. I am not sure if that was local or all over.

My husband got a stern lecture if it popped up on his new Windows 7 don't touch it shut the computer off manually.

I am so sorry this happened and hope no one else gets it.

Jo Ann if I can help in some way let me know.

#21 Birdie

Birdie

    Cuckoo Bird

  • Admin
  • 29,813 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Cameron, MO
  • Interests:Family, Computers, and Gardening, reading.

Posted 30 September 2012 - 12:52 PM

Yes, that is the safest way to do it. We have posted about these kinds of viruses before. There are a lot of them. Any security warning you get, turn off the computer unless you know for sure it is from your antivirus

#22 Robbie

Robbie

    TOP CFF POSTER

  • Members
  • 32,958 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Cullman, Alabama
  • Interests:Church and Church Family
    Immediate Family consists of Husband of 57 years, Noel;daughter Caron; grandson Alex; & SIL Dan.
    Pets: Maltipoo Dog named Beau, a Shih Tzu named Livvy and a Cat Itty-Bitty
    Past-time: Reading, Cryptograms, Computer and CFF

Posted 30 September 2012 - 02:41 PM

I know we have talked about these alot but for the life of me I cannot recall having been instructed to just shut it down cold-turkey before. I think my brain is permanently fried.

#23 Angel

Angel

    Member

  • Members
  • 3,223 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:PA
  • Interests:Family, our Pets, friends, Gardening, Birding, Computer, Church, Civic Organization

Posted 30 September 2012 - 03:04 PM

Robbie, you are not alone...I too was not sure how to take care of this issue. I guess I just learned that one has to completly shut down the computer. I did not see anything on the News about this latest Virus. Maybe there will be something on the News this evening.

#24 Birdie

Birdie

    Cuckoo Bird

  • Admin
  • 29,813 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Cameron, MO
  • Interests:Family, Computers, and Gardening, reading.

Posted 30 September 2012 - 03:14 PM

Robbie you know how to do an end task on IE with the task manager but some do not. You can do that but most people should just shut it down

#25 Robbie

Robbie

    TOP CFF POSTER

  • Members
  • 32,958 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Cullman, Alabama
  • Interests:Church and Church Family
    Immediate Family consists of Husband of 57 years, Noel;daughter Caron; grandson Alex; & SIL Dan.
    Pets: Maltipoo Dog named Beau, a Shih Tzu named Livvy and a Cat Itty-Bitty
    Past-time: Reading, Cryptograms, Computer and CFF

Posted 30 September 2012 - 03:30 PM

Yes, that is what I know I know how to do....I was just sitting here explaining to Noel...telling him I thought I was suppose to use task manager....but I told him for him to just do cold-turkey if it happened to him....lol....and I sure am glad to know I am not losing it. :rofls:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users